"Wear your seatbelt!"

Thanks, Mom.

But, do you legally have to?

We've been pretty much berated our entire lives with how important it is to wear yours seatbelt while driving, or riding in, a motor vehicle. If you don't, your odds of being severely injured or killed in a car accident are increased by a lot. So, ya know, wear your seatbelt so you don't get hurt.

Also, so you don't get in trouble. To clear it up, here is the actual law from Idaho Statute 49-673:

  • Adult drivers must pay $10 for passengers under the age of 18 who don’t have proper restraints
  • Passengers and drivers aged 18 and above must pay a $10 citation for not wearing a seatbelt
  • Court costs also apply to the penalty for a driver or occupant under age 18 not wearing a seatbelt

So, yes, you legally have to wear your seatbelt while driving, or riding in, a motor vehicle in Idaho. If you get caught not wearing one, you're going to get a ticket.

You should also know that there are additional rules in place if you have a child in a car seat riding in your vehicle as well.

 

Fortunately, the citation for not wearing a seatbelt is significantly less than for shooting someone from your vehicle:

Boise Late Night Shootout Scares Residents

Here is one account from a local resident near the incident.

 

In addition to wearing your seatbelt, you definitely want to make sure you're paying attention while driving as well. We know you've heard it 1,000 times, but distracted driving is really, really dangerous. So please stay safe out there, okay?

This Boise Crash Reminds Drivers To Be Attentive

While this crash has made the rounds online--we hope that everyone involved in this is safe and unharmed. It offers a public reminder to be attentive when driving here in the Treasure Valley

More From 95.7 KEZJ