Is it Illegal to Run Your Car Unattended in Idaho?
It’s that time of year. If you park outside, you’re going to have to start scraping your windshield in the morning; unless you start your car and let it warm up.
Everybody does it, right? And if you want to get fancy you can purchase an after market auto-start… some newer models even come standard with a starting feature.
When we were talking about this the other day, we got several calls from you saying that it’s not legal in Idaho to leave a car running, unattended. While I was aware that Ketchum passed an ordinance that gives $100-$300 fines for idling your car for more than 3 minutes, I had no idea we had anything close to that in Twin Falls.
I did some checking and according to a police officer and deputy, there IS a state law against leaving your car running unattended. Who knew? If you want to idle your car unattended to clear your windshield, you’re breaking the law.
I wonder what the odds are that you’ll find an officer that’s going to actually enforce it?